Chloë Finds a New Hero

Waiting for Jane.

Thank heavens, I got a reprieve on the start of Heather’s boot camp. One day she retired, and the next day she and Mike were gone for a while, which was plenty OK with me. Instead of 30-minute down-stays on the floor, I get 30-minute cuddles with my pal Lynn on a couch or in bed. Maybe they should go away more often. (Just kidding, guys!)

There were some surprises on this mostly uneventful staycation at home with Lynn. When Lynn went to work, instead of Jill coming through the front door to take me out for my mid-day walk, in came Jane, my down-the-block neighbor Merrie the Basset hound’s owner. I know Jane is really nice and always talks to me, so I was very glad to see her, especially since she didn’t bring Merrie along. As my readers well know, I do better with one-on-one relationships. So every day around noon, I took Jane for a walk around the neighborhood, sniffing my way along the sidewalks and hydrants and pulling her along. Jane said that seeing me strut down the street reminded her of John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever, the same rhythm and determination. I can dig it; after all, we’re all just “Stayin’ Alive.” On the other hand, all she has to compare me with is the slow-moving Merrie.

It was pretty rainy, and most days I got bored with the neighborhood walk after a half-hour or so and made it clear to Jane that I wanted to go home, walking her briskly until we got there. Then I would bolt inside and run to the kitchen, where Lynn left the Kong Wobbler sitting on the counter. I’d do my usual adorable dance, and Jane would set the Kong on the floor before departing, leaving me happily pushing it around and knocking out its treats. One time Jane even found the Kong when Lynn couldn’t. And for a game-saving catch like that, Jane will forever be my hero.

The next week Jill returned for my mid-day walk, and Lynn kept telling me that Heather was coming back any day. By mid-week, however, I was just treating that information like it was more of that fake news. When she gets here, she gets here. I am ready for boot camp. Bring it on.

3 responses to “Chloë Finds a New Hero

  1. Truly the girl has rested up for boot camp. Plus, we have cut back on the treats to make the transition to Heather-care even smoother. Chloe did express concern that Heather may not recall how to make the p-nut/boney – at least not as stuffed as Lynn does. The freezer supply is almost gone….

  2. And when did Heather retire? And where are your owners off to? I like retirement, it’s a passing that you can get to the other side of and tell everyone how it went…

  3. Laurie Winship

    Hey Mike, did you get out of here? Or did you enjoy the storm?! I wasn’t sure when your flight was scheduled.

    Two questions on your latest blog–

    Second paragraph, “There was some surprises…”

    Third paragraph, “pusing it around”

    It was great to see you and Heather–next time I hope it’s for a happier occasion.

    Laurie

    On Thu, Mar 16, 2017 at 12:09 PM, Diary of a Wiener Dog wrote:

    > Chloë the Wirehair Dachshund posted: ” Thank heavens, I got a reprieve on > the start of Heather’s boot camp. One day she retired, and the next day she > and Mike were gone for a while, which was plenty OK with me. Instead of > 30-minute down-stays on the floor, I get 30-minute cuddles with my p” >

Leave a Reply

