Chloë Trains the New UPS Driver

Mobile biscuit dispensary

Mobile biscuit dispensary

Kevin, my beloved UPS Man, retired back in November. I was introduced to Craig, the new UPS guy, not long after, but he didn’t really settle into the route full-time until sometime in January. It took me a while to get his delivery patterns down, and then a few in-person meet-and-greets for him to recognize me and where I live.

These days, however, as I excitedly drag the oafish Mike toward him or the door of his brown truck (whichever is closer), Craig recognizes me.  As soon as he sees me chugging towards him, he starts digging into his pocket for a biscuit, whether he’s delivering a package to our house or not. That was a big hurdle to clear. He understands me and my purpose, and he is prepared. While Craig has yet to call me by name (and  Mike has tried to make sure he knows it) and his presentation has not come close to the level of Kevin’s patented two-biscuit toss from the driver’s seat, I’m willing to give him more time to develop our relationship. As with baseball, it’s early in the season. Craig and I have a long way to go.

Dancing Fool

Dancing Fool

Mike, either from guilt or in an attempt to prime the pump on my behalf (or a bit of both), gave Craig an unopened box of my favorite dog biscuits to keep in his truck. I’m expecting that he’ll spread the wealth to dogs throughout Magnolia. I only hope those other mutts reciprocate.

3 responses to “Chloë Trains the New UPS Driver

  1. Chloe you are so clever with how you train the humans in your life. Before long Craig will be spending his weekends in his kitchen baking up your favorite homemade doggie cookies for you (and ultimately wondering why he is doing so other than this compelling urge to make you happy). I am thinking it would not be to my advantage to introduce you to boo. You are simply to capable for my old lady.

  2. Pingback: Chloë Sleeps Around | Diary of a Wiener Dog

  3. Chloe I recently found your blog and have been enjoying it. Maybe you can help me with my new UPS guy?

Leave a Reply

