Chloë Gets a Clean Bill of Health

Chloë in doctor's waiting area under the Cat Corner.

Chloë in doctor’s waiting area.

I approached my annual physical with some trepidation. I had been trying to ignore the two little lumps on my left side, but Mike and Heather kept poking at them to make sure they were not getting any bigger. They weren’t, but still. You never know.

So Mike tore himself away from March Madness for a few minutes one afternoon and steered me in for my physical a week early, just so he could tell my personal physician, Dr. Aimee Kimmel, all about them. Then she felt the lumps, and measured them, and told her assistant to diagram their locations and note their diameters in my electronic file. But Dr. Kimmel didn’t appear too worried, saying they were probably only cysts filled with liquid and were relatively common in dogs. She told Mike she would aspirate (drain) them to make sure,  so she took me into the back lab, stuck a needle in them and squeezed out some yucky stuff. Mike was lucky they didn’t make him watch (or take pictures). I’m sure the bottoms of his feet would have felt funny.

With her personal physician

With her personal physician

So my annual physical went well overall. As usual, I drew praise for my exemplary dental hygiene and for maintaining my svelte physique. I weighed in at 19 pounds, up from 18.8 on my last visit, but Dr. Kimmel told Mike my weight was “ideal,” and as I see it, she should know. Thankfully, my full complement of Frozen Peanut Butter Boneys will continue unabated.

Vet Visit Day continued superbly even after my medical procedure. Before leaving the vet’s office, I got all kinds of treats and compliments from my doctor and staff, and even ran into two dogs in the lobby that I got reasonably friendly with. Later, when we started our walk in the park, a lovely 9-year-old dachshund named Rita crossed my path, and we socialized pleasantly and received more treats from Mike. And before the walk was over, I came upon my favorite walking-stick strollers, Brooke and Jan, who were resting on a bench. I dutifully went into a down-stay on the ground at Brooke’s feet as he gleefully doled treats from his plastic bag into my waiting mouth. I could have sat there for hours.

What a wonderful day. All that anxiety unwarranted.

4 responses to “Chloë Gets a Clean Bill of Health

  1. Chloe I am so glad you have such good humans in your life to check those little lumps and bumps because you are right – you never know. So now that you are 100% perfect – go chase a ball or two for me in the park with those loving humans of yours. If you could learn to paw out a pretty decent hug to Heahter and Mike, I would be forever grateful to you. ❤️

  2. Caroline, Pinot & Ida Mae

    Pinot says that those bumps are like beauty marks. She gets new ones every year! I would have thought Chloe would be decked out in her Orange. Best of luck today!

  3. Chloe, you will always be our most “treatable” dog. But please lose that Syracuse collar. GO HUSKIES!

  4. So glad to hear that those little lumps received attention. Prevention is the best medicine! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

