Chloë Finds a Doppleganger in San Francisco

I really miss going to Heather’s office.  I used to go all the time, until earlier this year the office changed locations, and the new landlord put the kibosh on dogs at the office.  Everybody was always so nice to me there. I got lots of attention, lots of treats, and of course lots of meetings to sit through. It was fun! Frankly, I’d like to start a movement on my blog to re-institute a “dogs welcome” policy at Heather’s office, but I won’t do it because I know Heather wouldn’t approve, and that’s putting it mildly. I’m not going to risk getting into her doghouse.

Anyway, I must have made a big impression on Heather’s co-workers, because Heather says they ask about me all the time. One of them, at a business dinner in a trendy Vietnamese cuisine restaurant on the waterfront in San Francisco called the Slanted Door, was enjoying her meal when she saw a familiar face staring down from the wall. She emailed Heather, “Chloë joined us for dinner!”

Painting in SF Restaurant

Painting by Judy North in the Slanted Door, a San Francisco restaurant

Chloë 2013

Chloë 2013

So what do you think? The coloring is close, and look at those bald ears! If the little girl in the picture didn’t have those light brown paws and muzzle, she and I could be twins. I can’t wait to tell my brothers Frank and Stanley about this. Maybe we have a long-lost sister who became a famous model.

Mike contacted the restaurant and found out the wirehair dachshund portrait (“Mavis”) was painted by Judy North, a celebrated artist whose dog portraits hang throughout the dining areas. While Ms. North accepts commissions, Mike told me he has no interest in launching a Kickstarter campaign to raise funds for my sitting.

Frankly, I don’t really care whether I get a fancy portrait or not. All I ask is that next time somebody thinks of me at dinner, send me a doggie bag, not a photo.

3 responses to “Chloë Finds a Doppleganger in San Francisco

  1. Chloe , You look so much better than that painting!, look at the dog calendar!,,

  2. *#@& the new office.

  3. Pingback: Chloë Entertains Her Fans | Diary of a Wiener Dog

Leave a Reply

