Chloë Marches On

Falls on Boulder River Trail

Falls along Boulder River Trail

I made up with Mike after that cat thing.  You never want to bite the hand that feeds you, right? I’ll just have to accept his need for occasional independence from the rigors of taking care of me. After all, we can all use some respite now and then, even from those we love.

I wasn’t going to tell Mike about an incident that happened while he was away, but when we took a hike last weekend with my pal Charlie, he spilled the beans.  Charlie divulged to Mike that in the park a few weeks earlier while he was taking me for a walk, a mean lady yelled at us, “Get a real dog!” after Charlie verbally scrapped with her about her two unleashed dogs harassing me. At the time, I was somewhat embarrassed, but I sure was glad that Charlie was sticking up for me, the “real dog” who was leashed and cowering behind him at the time. In retrospect, however, who the heck did she think she is, the Queen of Sheba? I am Chloë, hear me roar…from a distance, anyway.

Rescuing a stick

Rescuing a stick from the river

Discussion of that story aside, I had a great time on our hike and was an extremely well-behaved dog for the entire duration ; that’s what Heather said, several times. We drove a couple of hours each way to the Boulder River trailhead and back, but the car ride was worth it. Our 2 1/2-hour walk on this up-and-down trail was both beautiful and good exercise for me, a lot different from my usual ball-chasing. Plus, In addition to hiking, I got a chance to dig and chase sticks in the river on the way back to the car.

With Heather at trail's end

With Heather at trail’s end

That hike tuckered me out, all right, so I slept in the back seat all the way home. Even so, I was conscious enough to know that Mike, Heather and Charlie stopped for ice cream cones, and none of them brought me one damn lick. I will get even, believe me, even if it means hurling my lunch in a particularly embarrassing situation.

One response to “Chloë Marches On

  1. What’s a girl to do Chloe, but don’t get sick and hurl somewhere inappropriate in revenge, just remember these words my wonderful attorney once taught me, “KILL THEM WITH KINDNESS”…it really works!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

