Chloë Sees Orange

Roland and Heidi, 2004

Roland and Heidi in Seattle, 2004

My patience with Mike’s extended absence was wearing thin when he finally returned from the East Coast. Even though he was gone almost a month, I greeted him with gusto, having decided to cut him some slack after Heather told me Mike had stayed east so long in order to attend a memorial service for his dear friend Roland. Believe it or not, I never got the chance to meet Roland, but I heard countless tales of how much fun he was, and how he was especially devoted to his own pets (not to mention a family of threatened elephants). I know my predecessor Heidi really liked him, and that’s good enough for me.

I could tell Mike was feeling blue, so I tried hard to be extra nice to him. It worked for a few days, but then the photos you see below mysteriously appeared in my “in” box. They were apparently taken by a hidden camera in Mike’s bedroom in Syracuse, where he stayed with so-called friends. I say “so-called” because, while I’m sure they are fine, upstanding people otherwise, they have two cats, Dinah and Mingus. Dinah could care less about Mike, but master Mingus likes to sleep on Mike’s bed, or anywhere else he damn well pleases.

Mike and Mingus

Mike and Mingus

The first photo looked innocent enough, but the next one raised some concerns. Things seem to be getting a bit too chummy for my taste.

Whisker to whisker

Whisker to whisker

There were more photos of the two of them, but I could no longer bear to look.

The photos crushed me. Here I was in Seattle, thinking every single waking second about nothing but food, playing with my ball, and Mike all the time he’s gone, but the moment he gets out of town he starts cheating on me. With a cat, no less. And a  huge cat, at that.

I don’t know. When it comes right down to it, who needs the aggravation that true love inevitably brings? I will be better off to forget about Mike and that cat, because Mike’s intentions are crystal clear. Before you know it, he’ll be going back to Syracuse and taking care of cats. I couldn’t bear it. I’m done with him.

But oh, will I ever be able to trust again?

5 responses to “Chloë Sees Orange

  1. Oh Chloe, Heather must be thrilled to have Mike back too. Now you have the both of them, and their complete devotion. All will be well, think about it, you’ll find I’m right.

  2. Oh yes Chloe you will be able to trust again, beleive me when I say, “time heals all wounds”…and a special treat doesn’t hurt either!!

  3. Can’t wait to hear the next scenario! Glad your home Mike. Sorry about your loss of friend.

  4. Chloe, Mike is showing by example peacekeeping ways. He knows how you chase after the local Seattle kitties – and occasional “mistaken kitties” which are wily raccoons. He sacrificed his adoration temporarily from you to kitties to show that they can be our friends (except for the “mistaken kitties.”) Do you see Mike chasing kitties? No one picture of that! Think about it over that nice next treat from Mike and Heather.

  5. Pingback: Chloë Marches On | Diary of a Wiener Dog

Leave a Reply

