Chloë Debones a Bone

Mike was holding out on me. Way back in February, my aunts Susie and Debby sent me a present from Syracuse: a huge pork shank they saved from restaurant leftovers. They froze it, packed it in plastic, and sent it to me with Mike and Heather when they were there in February. Mike promptly put it in our kitchen freezer and forgot about it until last weekend, when he finally decided to let me have it. And yes, it was worth the wait, and even worth the painful boney nuggets I pooped out the next day. I mean, take a look at this bone!

Bone before

Bone before

 

Mike must have felt bad about depriving me all those weeks, because he warmed the bone in the microwave for me. Lest I get messy, he spread an additional towel across my office bed as a tablecloth, and then he told me to get into the bed and had the bone delivered to me on a silver platter. Well, a platter, anyway.

Special delivery

Special delivery

A work in progress

A work in progress

Since Heather was home working at the computer that day, it was her responsibility to monitor my activity with the bone, so I wouldn’t get any big pieces caught in my throat on the way down, or chew it until it barely existed anymore. Looking back at it now, I guess Heather didn’t do that great a job, did she? On the other hand, I didn’t choke on anything, and I can be quite vicious when I have a bone in my mouth. Here’s what was left.

Bone after

Bone appetit!

 

I heard that Mike is heading back to Syracuse again soon. If he fails to return with at least another bone to match this one, I’ll be having a bone to pick with him.

One response to “Chloë Debones a Bone

  1. That’s bone jour and atten-chien Mlle Chloë

Leave a Reply

