Chloë Wows Will

Will Cavanagh at Queen Anne Hill in Seattle

Will Cavanagh at Queen Anne Hill in Seattle

Last weekend we had a visit from Will Cavanagh, another of Mike’s college pals. Will (known to some as “the  Schmaugh,”

for reasons not readily apparent to me) is a big-time tax attorney in the Big Apple, I overheard Mike tell someone. (As if I can trust anything Mike said, because he also said Will was a brother of Juneau George, who I met a few weeks ago, and that both of them were his brothers, too. I just don’t get it. There’s no family resemblance that I can see.)

Mike and Chloë at Lake Union

Mike and Chloë above Lake Union

Anyway, Mike and I picked up Will at the airport and took him on one of Mike’s All-Around Seattle Grand Tours. I had a lot of fun, even though I was forced to sit in the back seat (and tied to a seat belt, no less). Since it’s Seattle in November, it was raining on and off all afternoon,  but Mike stopped the car a few times anyway so we could get out of the car and check out a view for Will. At Volunteer Park, I climbed all the way to the top of the water tower and all the way back down. I wish we would go to that park more often, in fact, since I was energized by its significant squirrel population. We stopped at Gas Works Park on Lake Union, too, but there were no squirrels, just a lot of goose poop, and the wind was pretty nasty up on the hill overlooking the lake. Wisely, we  retreated.

Will Cavanagh and Chloë

Will Cavanagh and Chloë

The skies cleared up on Saturday morning, and right after breakfast Heather, Mike and I  walked with Will all the way down to the West Point lighthouse and back . Then Penny and company came over for a football game that didn’t go very well for us. There were many derisive comments, and everybody but Will left early. I guess he really had no where else to go, or he would have.

It was fun hanging out with Will for a few days, but when Mike took him to the airport early on Sunday morning, I had no interest in tagging along. Instead, I jumped up into the sack with Heather, snuggled into a fleece blanket and napped there well past Mike’s return.  It was a perfect antidote to Will’s whirlwind stay.

5 responses to “Chloë Wows Will

  1. Chloe – your Mike sure is a popular guy. So many friends. I did not know that the Volunteer Park tower steps would be a go for you – the squirrels no question of your aptitude or attitude there! Looking forward to some fleece dachshund action on my upcoming visit.

  2. We hope Chloe continues to remember “Mr. Dog-treat Man” in Discovery Park. We promise to have treats at the ready at all times, especially if she always recognizes us at a distance!

    Brooke & Jan, Discovery Park daily walkers

    • I finally found your comment! Sorry it took so long; I’ll have to be checking my own blog and email more often. I hope to see you in the park again soon, especially since you gave me extra treats the last time. I love those treats. And go Hawks!

  3. Sounds like you guys had fun with your visitor. You did indeed hit some of Seattle’s high points while he was here. I went walking at Discovery Park the other day with my two Doxies and my friend who has two more. I hadn’t been to the lighthouse in a while. Looks like the waves eroded part of the fence around it. Glad the lighthouse was safe.

Leave a Reply

