Chloë Alarms in Anacortes

Hiking in Washington Park

Hiking in Washington Park

We went to Anacortes for Heather’s office party. Heather helped set things up, so Mike and I drove off for a walk in Washington Park. Mike got to drive Heather’s car, which seemed like quite a thrill for him. Later on, I gave him  some more thrills.

On our two-hour walk, most of the time I did a good job of sticking close to Mike and ignoring the small animals and deer (I saw lots of them and smelled plenty more). However, after we had been walking about an hour,  I detected a really strong scent heading downhill toward the water. Ignoring Mike’s protestations,  I sprinted down the rocky slope and disappeared for  a good 15 minutes. Good for me, that is. It was more than enough time to throw a good scare into Mike. He tried not to act too excited when I trotted back to him, but I know damn well he was relieved.

At Cap Sante Lookout

At Cap Sante Lookout

Izzy

Izzy

Then we drove back to the party, which was at Buddy’s house. I know Buddy from my visits to Heather’s office. Buddy is pretty mellow, especially for a dog that’s part beagle. He seems tired. The only other dog who showed up was Izzy, host of the recent Vashon Island party. As she did that day, Izzy again dominated the attention of all the children, so I was free to hang around with the grownups and wait for tidbits of food to hit the ground. All the people there said the catering was excellent, but I would have preferred a spread with more finger food. Frankly, hors d’oeuvres  are much likelier to be eaten standing, and  the small pieces broken off in under-zealous bites can float unimpeded to the ground, where I am positioned, nose and tongue ready.

At the party

At the party

I was generally well-behaved at the party, except for the two times I sprinted off shrieking at a neighborhood cat. Who cares if it’s not MY neighborhood. Mike, possibly conditioned by our earlier experience, immediately assumed that I’d follow that cat uphill into the blackberry thicket and get stuck there, or lost on the deer trails that traverse the hillside all the way up to the Cap Sante Lookout. But I’m not that stupid;  I knew the buffet hadn’t closed yet.

Chloë and Heather discuss the trip.

Chloë and Heather discuss the trip.

We stayed overnight in a fancy hotel that was neat except for when the pipes made a racket about 12:15 a.m. It happened twice, and the second time lasted quite a while. Heather thought it would make me bark, as I had earlier when people spoke on the street below our open windows. So Mike phoned the front desk, and they must have called upstairs for the guests to stop the shower. After that I stayed quietly in my crate for the rest of the night.

Other than that, I gave this hotel 4 stars. It had a real nice lobby that I guarded for a while in the morning while Mike was getting the car, and a spiffy lookout at the top of the stairs. Mike, Heather and I had the lookout all to ourselves in the morning before we left for home. After my restless night of vigilance in the hotel room, I slept in the car and made it all the way back to Seattle before I tried to run away again.

One response to “Chloë Alarms in Anacortes

  1. Tell Mike that I’m feeling better. I was creating much of my own bp scare by taking it too often and then reacting if it went high. Do it enough times and you can really push it up there. I did a 20 minute walk today (half speed power walk) and am eating so healthy I shouldn’t even be standing on this good earth, but hovering above it all. B.

Leave a Reply

