Chloë Loses; Cubs Win, Cubs Win!

Chloë on Mariners Logo

Official Hot Dog of the Seattle Mariners

Mike wasn’t around much last weekend. He was with his friend Larry Baashe watching the Chicago Cubs. This didn’t sit well with me, since, as we know, I am the official hot dog of the Seattle Mariners, who were playing the Cubs.

Despite all my rooting, the Cubs took two of three from the M’s, but I’m used to that. My Mariners suck, and they will continue to suck until they get new management. At least that’s what the loud morons on the radio cry all day. No, the loss I mourned was losing most of my time with Mike before he headed back to Syracuse for a visit. The only good part about it was that it was real hot outside, and they didn’t have much time to make me take long walks in the park. So I did a lot of lounging, and when my friend Lynn came over because Heather went to one of the baseball games with them, I got a cooling bath and lots of bananas.

Larry and friends: Cubs win! Cubs win!

Larry and friends: Cubs win! Cubs win!

Anyway, Larry’s team won the series, and he could hoist the “W” banner known by their fans to signify another Cubs win. The Mariners fans in the crowd had to stop chanting “1908!” for a few moments. How can they make fun of the Cubs for not winning a championship since 1908 when the lousy Mariners have never even gone to the World Series? Civility has left us, especially in the realm of sports. It’s just appalling, really.

I didn’t get to spend too much time with Larry, but he kept telling Heather that he loved his accommodations here so much that he would be returning in a few weeks for a longer stay, without the Cubs. That said, I figured I’d be a good sport and let him take a  “Visitor Portrait” with me. It’s been a while since we had any visitors, but I remembered how to do it.

The Official Hot Dog of the Seattle Mariners looks lovingly at Larry Bashe.

The Official Hot Dog of the Seattle Mariners looks lovingly at Larry Bashe.

Maybe Larry will post the photo to his Facebook page, and news of my fame and good looks will be spread even further. So I’ll play along: Go Cubs! Go Orange! Go get me another treat, please. I am worthy.

Leave a Reply

