Chloë Visits Vashon

Olympic Mountains from Vashon Ferry

Olympic Mountains from Vashon Ferry

We had a great time last Saturday. Right after breakfast we got into Heather’s car, drove to West Seattle and took the ferry to Vashon Island, where Heather’s office was having a party. I was invited, too, as I no doubt deserved to be. My name can fit on any guest list.

Chicken Claw

Chicken Claw

We got to the island early enough to go to the Vashon Farmers’ Market.  I wasn’t allowed inside the grounds, so I waited on the sidewalk with Heather while Mike toured the booths. Good thing, too, because the booth next to the sidewalk was selling designer dog treats. Since I was so well-behaved, he gave me a couple of free samples, and Heather immediately bought a bag full; smart  marketing on his part. He must have liked me, too, because he threw some sweet potato slices and a chicken claw in the bag as a bonus.

Ella

Ella

Then we drove to Jensen Point on Quartermaster Harbor, on the southern part of the island. This park had a beach, a lawn and trails through a thick forest called Burton Acres. We played some fetch on the lawn and walked on the beach and in the forest, where I saw a deer and a rabbit. I  was generally being a good girl about not chasing them, or so I was told. But the best part of stopping here was meeting three other dachshunds. Two of them, both tiny little things,  paddled off in a canoe with their people and eventually did some swimming (not on my personal to-do list yet). But Ella, a 2-year-old longhair, stayed behind, and she and I enjoyed some good chasing and wrestling, until she pooped out.

Chatting up the guests.

Chatting up the guests.

Later we went to the party at the home of Izzy, a Cardigan Welsh Corgi who belongs to Dan from Heather’s office. He and his wife Debbie were hosting the party in their beautiful home with fabulous gardens and lawns. Since none of my other canine buddies from Heather’s office showed up at the party, I figured I was pretty lucky to be there, so I  had to be on my best behavior. Even with three kids around, not to mention a kitten, I managed to steer clear of all of them. The kids were happy to pay all their attention to Izzy, who was tireless with them,  and cuddly to boot. Izzy was totally  into it, too; I’m sure she doesn’t normally get anywhere near the attention and exercise that I do every day with Mike and Heather. I just don’t appreciate how lucky I am, no matter how many times they keep telling me!

A little too much wine?

A little too much wine?

As people at the party drank and ate nice-smelling food (and giving me nothing!), Heather and I played a little fetch, gaining accolades from Heather’s co-workers, and lounged a while on the lawn. Later I just hung out in my green folding chair, relaxing and listening to all the wonderful things people said about me and how good a dog I was being.  As the afternoon wore on, even I started to tire of it, so I ate my dinner on the deck, took a nap, and pretty soon it was time to catch the ferry home. I slept all the way back, dreaming about that chicken’s foot. I hope I don’t have to eat the nails, too.

A relaxing afternoon on the deck.

Relaxing after an afternoon of delicious food and scintillating conversation .

One response to “Chloë Visits Vashon

  1. Pingback: Chloë Alarms in Anacortes | Diary of a Wiener Dog

Leave a Reply

