Chloë Renews Her War on Cats

Just look at all the blatant falsehoods being perpetrated on the Internet. This got a lot of attention because of the Boston Marathon bombing suspects, but even worse stuff flies around every day. Look at the photo below…does anyone really think something like this happens in real life?

And yet Mike actually received this fake, manipulative photo in his email one day, along with multiple other photos of cats and dogs feigning affection. Obvious fakes, all of them.  You can’t trust anything you see on the Internet. These photos are lies. The truth lies in quite the opposite direction.

Let me quote from this definitive article about cats that appeared earlier this year in the world’s newspaper of record, The New York Times:

“Scientists have identified a shocking new truth: Cats are far deadlier than anyone realized.

“A joint report from the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service estimated that domestic cats in the United States — both the pet Fluffies that spend part of the day outdoors and the unnamed strays and ferals that never leave it — kill a median of 2.4 billion birds and 12.3 billion mammals a year, most of them native mammals like shrews, chipmunks and voles rather than introduced pests like the Norway rat.”

“The estimated kill rates are two to four times higher than mortality figures previously bandied about, and position the domestic cat as one of the single greatest human-linked threats to wildlife in the nation.”

Need I say more? Cats are evil. Q.E.D.

Friendly Coon Cat

Friendly Coon Cat

As my regular readers already know, I always try to do my part to control the cat population of my Seattle neighborhood. And for a while, I thought my occasional solo guerrilla missions to ferret out Beau, Mittens and Coon Cat, as well as the nightly foot patrols I conduct with Heather on both sides of the street would keep the situation under control. In fact. I thought I had won a major victory when the Bartons told Mike that my primary foe Beau was gone, off to become a barn cat on a farm in Snohomish County, where his constant prowling is welcome and more frequently rewarded.

Beau

Beau

However, then I received two pieces of much less desirable news: First, Coon Cat’s owner told Mike that there are actually two coon cats. One of them (the nasty one) rarely leaves the house, so it must be the nice one that looks like she wants to be my friend. I don’t know how their dog April can take living with two cats, day and night, every day. If you can call that living.  It would be my idea of hell – and Mike’s, too, soon enough.

Even worse:  Last weekend the Bartons came home with two animal carriers in the back of their car. Mike even helped them take the crates and some supplies inside their house, and he returned to tell me and Heather that the Bartons got two young cats, a brother-sister combo less than a year old but not tiny kittens. Both are mostly black with some white spots and have soft, long hair.  The male, mostly black will be called Shadow. The female looks like she’s wearing a tuxedo, so she may be called Fred, after the debonair dancer-actor Fred Astaire.  According to the Bartons,  Shadow and Fred are never to venture outside their house.

And I will be here to enforce that edict, trust me. There will be no feline killing sprees on my watch.

Chloë with burrs.

Chloë hones her cat-tracking skills.

Leave a Reply

