Chloë Turns Three!

Lest anyone forget that my third birthday was Feb. 5, they do so at their own peril. I am making a list and keeping it in my little black book.

Chloë surveys bag of bags.

Chloë surveys bag of bags.

My friend Lynn gave me my first birthday gift last weekend, unannounced and unexpected,just before Mike and Heather came home from Florida: A sponge bath in the kitchen sink. Boy, did I need it! I rolled in something, for sure. But Lynn pampers me so. She washed me using some empty milk containers full of warm water, a wash cloth and a little of my special shampoo. I tried to escape a few times, but then I gave up and just buried my head in Lynn’s armpit and cooperated. When I was all dry, I smelled a whole lot better, even to myself, and the hair on my back had a nice curl. In other words, I was even cuter than usual for a few days.

Needless to say, Lynn gave me many treats when my bath was over, bless her heart. Lynn treated me well all week, of course. I was still leaving behind monster poops two days after Mike and Heather returned. Now it’s back to Mike’s hard rations.

Luckily, Mike brought me a couple of birthday presents back from Florida, and one came not a moment too soon. Grandma Rosalie sent me about a month’s supply of plastic bags from her newspapers to use for picking up my poop. These bags have been in short supply in Seattle since last summer’s drought; no rain, no newspaper bags. Our stingy newspaper guy only uses them in the wettest weather, so I thank Rosalie for sending hers.  I want Mike to make every effort to clean up after me, all the time.

Susie's Chloë book

Susie’s Chloë book

Mike also brought me a wonderful gift from my dear Aunt Susie: A glossy,  hardcover book that includes some of my favorite photos from the first three years of this blog. And wow, how time flies! This beautiful volume will serve as a loving chronicle of my puppy years. Click here to view the book, and believe it or not, all of you fans can actually order your own glossy, hardcover copies right from that website (on the other hand, you don’t have to join Shutterfly or buy anything to view the book online). I think you’ll like it as much as I do; heck,  some of you are in it! Just make sure you view it in the full screen mode, so you can get the full effect of my cuteness. Thank you, Aunt Susie.

My personal UPS Guy must have known it was my birthday, too. Mike and I were out for my midday stroll that day when his big brown truck rolled up in front of cat lady Sandy’s house. Even though he may have been delivering something to my nemesis Mittens, he still found the time to toss me one biscuit on his way to her door and a second birthday biscuit when he got back in the truck. That’s my guy.

Chloë in fall

Chloë in fall

Even Mike came through. All day long, he kept telling me Happy Birthday and how good and how grown up I am. All praise warranted, of course, but always nice to hear. Later, on our afternoon walk he let me run by myself for almost the whole hour, and provided extra treats every time I ran back to check in with him. Mike tries to act tough, but he’s a softy underneath; in fact, I think I saw him crying during the Super Bowl ad for the Budweiser Clydesdale last Sunday.

I guess the only one who didn’t remember to wish me Happy Birthday was Heather “No Presents” Tully. I’m not going to sulk about it, though. That’s just the kind of girl she is. As long as she keeps letting me sleep under the covers when she’s napping, I won’t make a big deal of it.

Official age 2 photo of Chloë

Official age 2 photo of Chloë

 

 

3 responses to “Chloë Turns Three!

  1. happy birthday Chloe!!! I wish I had an aunt like you do and better yet LINDA?

    Hope to play with you soon
    Penny

  2. Aunt Susie just told me that if you want to order her Chloë book by Wednesday, Feb. 13, you can get 40 percent off! Such a deal. Here’s the link:

    http://www.shutterfly.com/pb40vday/?rilt=cta_head&mpch=email&CID=FOC_136563&UID=005020733944&TC=TC0028171&utm_source=SFLYemail&utm_medium=CL000031020&utm_campaign=TC0028171&PID=SFLY&esch=1

  3. Pingback: Chloë Earns More Freedom | Diary of a Wiener Dog

Leave a Reply

