Chloë Gets Bad to the Bone

We stuck around the house on Memorial Day weekend, which gave me extra time for napping with Heather, going on long walks and lots of digging. I must have gotten pretty dirty, because Heather gave me a bath on Monday night; it certainly couldn’t have been because I smelled bad!

Chloë’s bone, in the flesh.

The holiday weekend also meant they had more time to monitor me while I was gnawing on the huge pork shank they gave me on Saturday. They had been saving it for the right moment since their anniversary dinner back in February. Finally, that time arrived. The bone came out of the freezer, making it look almost prehistoric. I grasped it eagerly and immediately began licking it to soften up its texture and bouquet. Excuse me while I lick my lips. Yum!

Apparently the deal is that as long as the bone doesn’t start splitting into tiny daggers, I can keep gnawing on it in limited periods for as long as it lasts. I’m not allowed to growl and refuse to give it up, either.

Well, I can live with that. I’m smart enough to know that if I chewed the bone up  all at once, I’d be pooping out hard nuggets for a week, and that gets darn uncomfortable quickly. Trust me, I’ve been there.

So after considering all alternatives, I’ll gladly gnaw off a little at a time and enjoy this bone as long as I can. All I can say is “Mmmmmmmm, good.”

Chloë being bad to her bone.

To be continued. 

2 responses to “Chloë Gets Bad to the Bone

  1. The word on da Brooklyn street was that chloe kept kosher, lots of saddened rabbis in borough park

Leave a Reply

