Chloë Rips Up Her NCAA Tournament Bracket

Here’s all you need to know about where we stand with our respective NCAA Tournament sheets in Heather’s office pool:
Rene: 60 + 61 = 121 +  8 =  129 +  4 = 133 + 8 = 141
 (25 other names deleted for space considerations)
Chloë (the dog): 56 + 40 = 96 + 4 =100 + 4 = 104 + 0 = 104
Heather: 44 + 45 = 89 + 8 = 97 + 4 = 101 + 0 = 101
Mike: 50 + 40 = 90 + 4 = 94 + 0  =  94 + 0 = 94
Alex: 31 + 39 = 70 + 8 = 78 + 8 = 86 + 0 = 86

Chloë rips up her bracket and prepares to chew.

Notice that Mike, Heather and I all notched zeroes in the last round, meaning our sheets are finished. Kaput. I decided to rip mine into pieces and then chew on it for a while, so it wouldn’t be a total loss. It tasted kind of like crow. However, I do want to point out that I finished first in my pack, while college basketball aficionado Mike finished next to last, period. Some expert he turned out to be.

Yesterday Mike took me to the vet for my annual checkup. Everything went pretty well, except for the part where they wanted to shove a thin rod up my butt. They got it in, eventually, but it wasn’t pretty. The best part was finding out I weigh only 17.1 pounds. I keep telling Mike that he needs to feed me more, but he’s reluctant. When Dr. Aimee told him that 17 or 18 pounds was my “perfect” weight, Mike glowed. I groaned.

A good girl lies down in the vet’s waiting room.

I was proud when she praised my dental hygiene, however, and I did manage to snag several treats in the vet’s waiting room. Later on that afternoon, Mike gave me a second peanut butter boney, so maybe he plans to indulge me a little bit for a few days to bulk me up.

One can always dream!
Leave a Reply

