Chloë Has an Eventful Week

March came in like a lion, but now I can definitely feel the change in season. The mosses and ferns in the park puff up in brilliant greens after every rain. And it must be March Madness when Mike shunts me out to the car for most of the day to watch basketball tournaments; why else would he not want me to bother him?

Ron and Cathy visit from Juneau.

In between the rain and the games, Ron and Cathy visited from Juneau. Nervous Nellie- me barked at them for the first two days they were here. My bad. We were becoming good friends by the time they went home, so I invited them outside for one  of my soon-to-be-famous Visitor Portrait series. (Aunts Susie and Debby were my first visitor portrait, but I didn’t quite have the format down yet; I’d like to have Mike reshoot them on their next visit.)

I also enjoyed several eventful walks during early March’s turbulent weather. I’m used to strangers along the trail telling me how cute I am (goes without saying, actually), but one day an exercise walker going in the opposite direction passed us and told Mike, “She’s an excellent walker.” Indeed.

Chloë’s baseball

A few days later, I was walking along Magnolia Boulevard about dusk when I smelled horsehide. The next minute I was darting under some bushes, stuffing an old, waterlogged baseball into my mouth and hustling down the sidewalk homeward. Damn thing was heavy, so Mike helped me out carrying it home. As soon as he opened the front door, however, I reclaimed it and started gnawing. Took me just a day and a half to tear the cover off the ball, literally. This baseball, it has been very, very good to me.

Chloë rips the cover off the ball.

And so is my favorite UPS guy. Last Monday he delivered a package when Mike and I were out walking, and on top of the box was one of those huge Milk Bones. What a prince the guy is. And yesterday came the piece de resistance:  Mike took me to my first drive-thru, at the Chase Bank in Magnolia. As soon as Mike rolled down the car window and I saw a smiling man behind the glass, I knew something good was going to happen. The man went away briefly, and Mike told me that he would come back and give me a treat, but only if I sat back down in the passenger seat. So I did, and when he came back, Mike gave him the thumbs up and he slid one of those big Milk Bones into the metal tray and pushed it towards us. Mike gave me the whole thing, and I was so happy that I didn’t even try to chew up the money and receipt that he got with the Milk Bone.

Drive-thru! What a concept. What will they think of next?

Leave a Reply

