Chloë Celebrates Her First Christmas

From what I’ve gathered, around here holidays are pretty nonsectarian–part Catholic, part Jewish, part Yankee, part Canadian. Frankly, any day that includes roast turkey is a good day in my book.

What’s wrong with this picture?

So I knew something good was up when I saw Mike unstringing  colored lights that he brought up from the garage. He covered the mantel with them, and then he hung  two felt things underneath, in front of the fireplace that never gets used. This was a lot of iniative for the normally lazy Mike, so I was pretty impressed. As I looked over Mike’s handiwork, however, I realized that it clearly lacked a key element.

Joy to the world!

Not only was this oversight corrected this morning, but lo and behold, only the one that has my name on it had anything inside it. Wow! Was it that Santa guy? No, Mike told me the gifts came Special Delivery from my Aunt Susie back in the ‘Cuse. Thank you, Aunt Susie (and Santa, too). Inside my stocking I found two different kinds of chewy treats, a dozen rawhide sticks, and, best of all, a new squeaky toy: A hot dog in a bun, which apparently has some significance that I don’t fully understand.

Chloë gets to know her hot dog and its bun.

Anyway, I really got into that hot dog right away! Really into it. Unfortunately, he didn’t stick around long enough for me to give him a name, let alone a funeral. Farewell, sweet hot dog! I hardly knew, ye…but it was fun while it lasted.

Chloë loves stuffing with her turkey leftovers.

Only the tough dog survives.

So this holiday thing seems to be working out pretty well so far. I’ve had a big breakfast, a rawhide chewy, a couple of chewy treats, a Kong filled with treats and kibble, a frozen peanut butter marrow bone, an hour walk and a soothing bath–and heck, it isn’t even lunch time. All this and turkey, too?

You won’t be hearing any “bah, humbug!” from me.

2 responses to “Chloë Celebrates Her First Christmas

  1. Lynn Clark (dogsitter)

    Cheers to the holidays – and a little girl named Chloe who certainly knows the value of family (and the many gifts they bring). She has also caught on to the joy of being in the moment – even if that means that some toys only last the moment. Hugs to all.

  2. I guess next time I better buy higher quality toys.

Leave a Reply

