Chloë Learns to Dog Paddle

Getting ready to swim.

Well, it was not exactly the English Channel, but a girl must start somewhere! Before testing out the swimming pool or the fast-moving North Fork of the Snoqualmie River, Heather eased me into action in the pond out back of the Getaway house. My first swim wasn’t much on distance, but my form was impeccable. I didn’t even need my life jacket, and it was a good thing, too, because they left it home. Honestly, it’s hard to find good help these days.

Chloë’s first swim.

Next, it was on the the fountain on the other side of the house. I knew it was there letting the sound of its gentle splashing lull me to sleep at night. Now I’m getting harnessed up and dangled in its refreshingly cold water. Swimming? Nothing to it. I’m sure I could have done several more laps if they let me. And getting to shake off all over Tara was the perfect lagniappe to my dip.

Chloë on diving board

Heather, Tara and Chloë in Snoqualmie River.

So that was enough for now. But tomorrow, I’ve got bigger things planned. The pool’s not that big. It’s deep, though. Maybe wading into a lake or a river is a better idea.

I’m going to give it more thought.

Considering her next move.

Leave a Reply

