Chloë Earns Her First Degree

Heather says it so often that it’s about as meaningful as one of those pea-sized training treats. “She’s so smart,” she says, to anyone who’ll listen (usually, just Mike, and he seems to be hard of hearing). Well, now I am officially certified (see certificate below). And my excellent instructor, Wynona, even said that phrase to Heather at my last class: “She’s very smart.” And now I’ve got my “Diploma of Canine Excellence” to prove it.

Chloë’s Diploma from Puppy Kindergarten

Of course, I realize there’s so much more to learn. In fact, I saw a package with another three dog books arrive in the mail this week. But I know I’ll always look back fondly at my halcyon days at ol’ Ahimsa and that first puppy play time that set the stage for all future learning. Not to mention all those puppy smells in the alley by the back door into the classroom. I’ll never forget that overwhelming sensation–or the chance once a week to square off  against and sometimes trounce dogs twice my size.

It was fun while it lasted, but now I’m perfecting my “deferential down stay” to make myself look as small as possible. I look at these videos, and I can see the handwriting on the classroom wall.

One response to “Chloë Earns Her First Degree

  1. Pingback: Chloë Goes Back to School | Diary of a Wiener Dog

Leave a Reply

