Chloë Goes to Work

Our Hero

This time, I’ve heard Mike and Heather say, they are going to pay stict attention to their puppy’s education and discipline. Since training their last puppy 18 years ago (that would be Heidi, the world’s longest dachshund, and we all know how that turned out), they have become avid followers of Cesar Millan, the Dog Whisperer. And from Cesar they got the idea that an owner should always make a dog work for food.

Normally this would include stuff like sit and stay, but that’s not enough for Mike. Last week he trundled me and my crate over to the office of the Washington Lodging Association, where Mike was getting trained on a Web editing tool so he could apply the finishing touches to the new WLA Web site. The lodging association was one of Mike’s first freelance editing clients when he arrived in Washington 12 years ago, and he still works for them today. (My guess is that they value his sense of humor, just like I do. He’s such a comedian.)

Chloe makes sure Alison Ippolito is at her desk in WLA office.

Anyway, before Mike got down to his training, I had real work to do. First I met briefly with the WLA staff to tell them what a great job they were doing, and how much I love the new edition of the Washington State Visitors’ Guide  (especially Mike’s articles). Then I herded them back to their desks, because all of them had important work to do, and then I

Puppy kisses, no biting!

waited quietly in my crate while Mike got a valuable  editing lesson  from Suzanne Tomlinson, WLA’s top-notch administrative assistant. Suzanne did such a great job that when they were finished and Mike got me out of the crate to leave, I just had to give her a special token of our appreciation.

All in all, going to work wasn’t bad. My first impression: Just do a little socializing, boss some people around, have a drink and a snack with your co-workers (if any), take a short rest and go home. Heck, I’m not even going to bill them.

One response to “Chloë Goes to Work

  1. This is my favorite new blog; if this dog’s this good already, she’ll be a major literary figure within a year.

Leave a Reply

